Of Faith and Friends

January 6, 2009

Lynn Walker read about Isis Initiative, Inc. in the local newspaper  http://www.gazettetimes.com/articles/2008/12/26/news/top_story/3aaa01_hatch.txt and e-mailed me. She is more than a breath of fresh air; she’s a gust, a whirlwind of goodness and compassion, with a hefty Rolodex of ideas and contacts.

Lynn invited me to a meeting of her Interfaith group,  people of different spiritual practices who come together to share a meal, ideas and intentions. Tonight the Baha’i Faith, Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Judaism, Self-Realization Fellowship, and Christian Scientists were represented.

I shared Leah’s story and the mission of Isis Initiative and I received a thoughtful listening and encouragement. 

Earlier in the day, my friend Jeanene Louden offered to help me create our budget estimates and statements. The numbers and accounting side of this nonprofit adventure had weighed on me, since I’m a verbal/visual gal. I’m grateful for Jeanene’s expertise and generosity.

My friend and board member Samanda Dorger volunteered to craft a temporary Web page that will give us a basic Web presence until we have the funds and time to create a logo/design identity. 

Sam also suggested I needed a place on this blog where potential donors could find a quick and professional source of information about Isis Initiative. This evening I took Sam’s advice to heart and drafted the “About Isis Initiative, Inc.” page.

 

“We must learn to reawaken and keep ourselves awake, not by mechanical aids, but by an infinite expectation of the dawn…”

–Henry David THOREAU

Leave a Reply

