In the swim

January 7, 2009

It’s raining in Oregon. Yes, the regular kind of cold, grey-day rain. And it’s raining blessings and offers of help from friends.

I went to pay for my Faculty Staff Fitness classes and Natalie said she’d seen the article in the Gazette-Times. She said she’d love to help with marketing, promotion and–her face lit up when I mentioned fundraising. 

Then I went to my swimming class and Elizabeth mentioned she’d seen the article and wanted to help. Elizabeth is a strong, fierce, fun swimmer who sets the pace for me on my good days and leaves me in her wake on my clunky days.

She invited me and other swimmers to join for her 55th birthday party: a 60-minute swim. She’d rented the local pool for the event at the end of the month.

A pool party, I said, laughing. How ’bout a fundraiser?  Yes, Elizabeth said.

And just like that, in less than 30 minutes, we have the makings of our first fundraiser. Generated spontaneously among women at a pool wanting to make a difference for women an ocean away.

One Response to “In the swim”


Leave a Reply

