Budget Woes

January 10, 2009

I’m not talking about the state of the economy.

I’m talking about my personal lack of knowledge about spread sheets and balance sheets. 

In high school, I was excellent with numbers. And somewhere along the way, I got lost or lost interest or got lazy.

I started this nonprofit with excitement and trepidation. Excitement about the possibilities of inspiring people and empowering women. Excitement about making a difference. And yes, excitement about learning new things, like creating budgets and balance sheets and grasping basic financial principles. 

I was also nervous about that very “learning-on-the-job.” But I’m committed to overcoming my fear of columns of numbers and financial concepts. With a little help from my friends, like Jeanene. She keeps assuring me it’s not as difficult as I imagine.

I’ll keep forging ahead. And maybe I’ll take a class or two.

 

“It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.”

–Ursula K. LeGUIN

Leave a Reply

