Clair de lune

January 12, 2009

Alice Anderson, one of our board members, created a Facebook page for Isis Initiative. If you’re a Facebook fan, please check it out and share it with your friends. Alice included photos from my trip to the Philippines in October 2007 to meet Leah’s family and attend her “Tribute Day” at La Salle University in Ozamiz City.

I’ve been resisting the Facebook movement. All my board members, Alice, Samanda and Melanthia, use Facebook and have been encouraging me to join. 

As a journalist, I’m a fan of persistence. 

I climbed to the top of the hill in Chip Ross Park today, hoping to see the moon. I had cause to be hopeful: the clouds had drifted apart in the afternoon. There was a chance the skies would clear.

I found a quiet spot, facing east, framed through some tree branches dripping with lichens. I sat for 45 minutes, watching the clouds crawl over the horizon, their bellies go pink and then blue gray. No moon.

I got home and sat at the window and watched the horizon beyond the Willamette River, certain the clouds would break. Denied. 

One last look, I thought. I peaked out the window. I saw the moon, about 15 degrees above the horizon, brightening as she broke free of the clouds. I hurried back to my room, added layers of clothes and dashed to the riverbank.

A broad band of moonlight swirled and eddied on the swollen Willamette. I gaged the moon’s rising against a bare tree branch. First the branch cut across the moon’s middle; then she climbed above it. I shifted my gaze from the moon to the river.

A path shimmered in a wide, waving band from the bank below my feet to the other side. I could hear the pulse of the river as the current gently surged and slacked. The shimmer dimmed, the band dissipated into intermittent sparkles.

After less than 20 minutes, the clouds had conquered the moon once more.

 

“Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.”

–Ralph Waldo EMERSON

2 Responses to “Clair de lune”

  1. Theresa Says:

    Don’t resist Facebook! Social networking is your friend! I totally just became your fourth fan.

  2. Cheryl Says:

    OK, Theresa. I’ll send you the link to our Facebook page so you can share it with your friends. And then, perhaps, you can coach me through the portal to Facebook. Thanks for reading my blog.


Leave a Reply

