Pooling our resources

January 27, 2009

Late last night (too much Indian chai) I finished my first fundraising letter and started sending it via e-mail. It’s a grass-roots appeal, and my first, for funds for Isis Initiative. 

In our board meeting on Sunday night, our conversation veered to the discomfort of “hitting up our friends” for money.

I don’t see it as taking advantage of our friendships. I see it as offering people a chance to contribute to a greater good. I see it as an investment. And there’s always a choice. Contribute if you can. Contribute if you believe in our work. If you can’t contribute funds, we accept encouragement and ideas, too.

Dear family, friends, and colleagues:

This year I created a nonprofit, Isis Initiative, Inc. to offer funds to women overseas who have the desire but not the resources to pursue a college education. I’m writing to invite you to participate in our first fundraiser. A hint: I’ll be swimming for an hour and you can pledge your support.

My friend and master swimmer, Elizabeth Budd, is celebrating her 55th birthday (1/30) with a “pool party” on Jan. 31. She generously asked her guests to forego gifts and donate to Isis Initiative, Inc.

Inspired, I decided to have fun and raise funds. I estimate I will finish at least 3,000 yards (60 laps) at the birthday swim. Consider pledging per lap, like the old swim-a-thons of our childhood. Of course, I will be grateful for all donations. $10. $100. $100,000. And please share our mission and this appeal with your friends.

We intend to raise at least $10,000 in 2009, enough to send one woman in the Philippines to college for four years and cover our basic operating expenses (we’re an all-volunteer outfit at present.)

You can read more about our organization in two articles with these links:

http://www.gazettetimes.com/articles/2008/12/26/news/top_story/3aaa01_hatch.txt

https://www.osufederal.com/about/whats_new/cheryl.php

You may send donations to

Isis Initiative, Inc., POB 53, Corvallis, OR 97339.

Soon we plan to have a link for online donations. Stay tuned to our Web site at www.isisinitiative.org and our blog at www.isisinitiative.wordpress.com.

Thank you.

Cheryl

2 Responses to “Pooling our resources”

  1. Deb Says:

    I don’t think there is anything wrong with hitting up your friends for resources. After all, why are we friends?

    I’m glad you emailed. I’m glad to help. Really, it’s a no-brainer. And, like you said, it is an opportunity.

    Glass empty or glass full?

    Support comes in many forms, yes?

    Kudos to you for shouting out.

  2. isisinitiative Says:

    Right on, Deb. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

