Muddy Waters

January 28, 2009

Call her. She’s so inspirational. She started a nonprofit from scratch. She’s doing great things for women and children. She’ll be a great resource for you.

I took the well-intentioned advice, took the bait. I e-mailed my friend’s contact and we made an appointment to talk.

“Is it too late to talk you out of it,” she said.

Yikes. Not my idea of inspirational.

“I don’t want to rain on your parade.”

And then she poured. 

I stopped taking notes and listened.

Sometimes I turn on the faucet in my apartment and the water runs rust-colored.  I let the water run until it clears. And then I take my bath or make my cup of tea.

Same principle. Patience. Wait for the muddy waters to clear.

Leave a Reply

