Laissez Les Bons Temps Rouler!

March 1, 2009

 

The J Hatch Trio plays a benefit for Isis Initiative, Inc. at Block 15 in Corvallis, Oregon on Mardi Gras, Feb. 24, 2009. J traveled from Germany to visit his sister, Cheryl, president of Isis Initiative, and join his friends, Ray Brassfield, on upright bass, and Fred Berman, on sax and clarinet, for a night of jazz standards and original tunes.

The J Hatch Trio plays a benefit for Isis Initiative, Inc. at Block 15 in Corvallis, Oregon on Mardi Gras, Feb. 24, 2009. J, on piano, traveled from Germany to visit his sister, Cheryl, president of Isis Initiative, and join his friends, Ray Brassfield, on upright bass, and Fred Berman, on sax and clarinet, for a night of jazz standards and original tunes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My brother, J, is back in Germany now. I took him to the airport yesterday, noticing it was almost the same time as when I left to pick him up last Saturday. I feel like I blinked my eyes and he was here and gone.

He brought his big smile, his laugh, his goodness. He shared his prodigious musical talent and his quirky humor. He has a big heart, my brother. He came and played a benefit for Isis Initiative, Inc. He had six days to visit. He rehearsed with Ray and Fred. He joined Ray at an jazz improv session of students at Oregon State University. 

And on Mardi Gras night, my brother played with joy and gusto. He smiled and laughed as he played with his friends, for the love of his music and the love of his sister. A sweet, sweet man, my brother.

The band donated their time, talent and wages for the night to Isis Initiative. We raised $600.  And I got a lot of good suggestions on how to do it better next time. We received most of the donations from friends and few from the patrons who enjoyed the food and music.

I am profoundly grateful to my brother. And to Ray and Fred for giving their time and talent. And to all my friends who accepted the invitation…and came out to support us, with their attendance, their applause and their checks. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

