IRS Forms

March 21, 2009

It’s tax time and I’m working on IRS forms. Not the usual 1040 with the schedule C. Those are on their way to my accountant.

I’m talking about Form 1023: Application for Recognition of Exemption Under Section 501 (c) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code, the inch-thick stack of questions and explanations that an organization must complete and file with the IRS to get nonprofit status.

I gave myself a deadline of March 30 to complete the Form 1023 for Isis Initiative, Inc., our global nonprofit that promotes healing, connection and communication through arts and education. The deadline is fast approaching. 

I’ve done well. I’ve filled out most of the paperwork, moving through the pages reading the dense, multi-dependent-clause questions, putting  an “x” in the appropriate boxes. I’ve completed our estimated three-year budget. I’ve started the narrative: the explanation of our nonprofit’s history, accomplishments and aspirations, our mission and our plans. I still need to outline our specific plan for selecting our scholarship candidates. We are ready to award our next scholarship to a young women in the Philippines. Leah will be one of three people on the selection committee.

Let’s face it: I can procrastinate, particularly when it comes to paperwork.

And, I’m a journalist. I’ll make the deadline.

Leave a Reply

