National Volunteer Week: Zonta

April 21, 2009

 

Isis Initiative president Cheryl Hatch, left, was a panelist at an event sponsored by the Corvallis chapter of Zonta International. Beth Rietveld, director of the Oregon State Women's Center, moderated the panel. Mark Weiss and Bonnie Soto also participated in the panel discussion. Photo by Jeanene Louden

Isis Initiative president Cheryl Hatch, left, was a panelist at an event sponsored by the Corvallis chapter of Zonta International. Beth Rietveld, director of the Oregon State University Women's Center, moderated the panel. Mark Weiss and Bonnie Soto also participated in the panel discussion. Photo by Jeanene Louden

My friend Jeanene was my guest at a community event tonight, sponsored by the Corvallis chapter of Zonta. Founded in 1919, Zonta International is a global organization of executives and professionals working together to advance the status of women worldwide through service and advocacy.

In March in celebration of International Women’s Day, Zonta presented me with a yellow rose to honor me for Isis Initiative’s work funding and promoting women’s education. I was  guest for the program “Rose Day Honors: Helping Women Return to College.”

Tonight I want to acknowledge my friend Jeanene and all the women and girls who support Zonta’s mission.

Jeanene helped me create the three-year projected budget for Isis for our IRS Form 1023. It was Jeanene’s idea to use my photo note cards as a fundraiser for Isis Initiative. Jeanene organized our card party when we assembled our first 50 sets of cards.

And tonight, when the women asked “How can we help?”, Jeanene stood and gave a heartfelt pitch for our notecards. She collected $210. 

I am grateful for Jeanene’s friendship (of 17 years we just realized tonight) and for her support of Isis Initiative, Inc.  And for her iPhone photo that accompanies this post.

I didn’t know about Zonta before my yellow rose. At tonight’s meeting, I met local women from all professions and backgrounds with a common passion: uplifting women. Girls from Crescent Valley and Corvallis High Schools spoke about their work in Z-Clubs; many are sophomores who impressed me with their clarity, compassion and sense of purpose. 

Zonta, like Isis Initiative, Inc., is an all-volunteer organization. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

