Tally ho

September 1, 2009

I spent my week combing through files and tallying numbers. I read bank account summaries and checked and double checked receipts.

Our first fiscal year ended on June 30, 2009 and we need to file our first tax return for Isis Initiative, Inc. Sam, our treasurer, lost the records and data she’d organized for us when her computer crashed earlier this year. As I’ve mentioned in other posts, I’m a big fan of paper and ink, so I have copies of everything on hand that Sam had stored in zeroes and ones on her now-dead hard drive.

I’m not a fan of numbers, though, so the process has been time-consuming. Today I sent our board members a breakdown of our donations/income and our expenditures. It was a modest first year if we focus only on the numbers in the columns.

Beyond the spreadsheets and the IRS forms, there’s a value and return on investment that defies quantifying: one young lady, Marethel Guinsayo, will leave her job as a maid and realize her dream of attending college, starting a five-year teacher education program next month on Mindanao in the Philippines.

Leave a Reply

