Rapid Response

September 14, 2009

The office of Oregon Secretary of State faxed my lawyer's office a copy of the acknowledgment letter, dated 2/14/2008.

The office of Oregon Secretary of State faxed my lawyer's office a copy of our Articles of Incorporation acknowledgment letter, dated 2/14/2008.

I stopped by my lawyer’s office twice today. Justin Wirth, of Jeanne Smith and Associates, was out of the office; however, legal assistant, Joellyn Williamson, pulled our file and discovered they had not received a letter of acknowledgment when we filed our Articles of Incorporation in February 2008.

By this afternoon, Joellyn had called the office of the Oregon Secretary of State and had a copy of the letter faxed to her. I picked it up, made a copy and put it in the mail back to our IRS case office, Eric Kaye, this afternoon.

This setback comes under the “don’t know what you don’t know” category. I was certain we had all our papers in order. I had my application reviewed by knowledgeable people. And yet, we didn’t know we hadn’t received the right document because we didn’t know to expect it.

By sharing our story as Isis Initiative, Inc. moves through the process of application and approval for tax-empt status, I hope others learn from our experiences.

Leave a Reply

