O Happy Day!

October 15, 2009

Cheryl Hatch received this letter from the Internal Revenue service, confirming that Isis Initiative, Inc. is exempt from federal income tax under section 501 (c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. The letter is stamped September 22, 2009 and all donations to Isis Initiative are exempt, retroactive to February 14, 2008.

Cheryl Hatch received this letter from the Internal Revenue Service, confirming that Isis Initiative, Inc. is exempt from federal income tax under section 501 (c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. The letter is stamped September 22, 2009 and all donations to Isis Initiative are exempt, retroactive to February 14, 2008.

After two weeks away, I headed to the counter at the post office in Corvallis to get my overflow mail. I chatted with Tom behind the counter about his recent hikes and my recent trip. He carried a package to my car.

As I sifted through the solicitations for donations, the promotions for cell phones and magazine subscriptions and a few bills, I discovered a fat envelope from the Internal Revenue Service.

Sitting in my car, I opened the envelope and read the letter.

“Dear Applicant: We are pleased to inform you that upon review of your application for tax exempt status we have determined that you are exempt from Federal income tax under section 501 (c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. Contributions to you are deductible under section 170 of the Code.”

Fantastic!

I immediately called Senator June Gibbs in Rhode Island, a friend who jumped on the Isis bandwagon early, offering her encouragement and making donations. When I saw June in Middletown, RI recently, she asked if we’d received our tax-exempt status yet. I said I hoped the letter would be waiting for me when I returned to Oregon.

I can’t wait to share the news with my board members. And begin applying for grants.

Leave a Reply

