Follow the Yellow Brick Road

March 7, 2010

The Oregon Department of Justice requires non-profits to file a CT-12 form. Of course, I wasn’t aware of this requirement until I received a letter informing me that I had failed to file the CT-12 form for our fiscal year 2008-2009.

I filled in the form and returned it as quickly as possible. There’s a penalty if we’re late. Since we’re a new organization with a small income base, every dollar counts.

I got a phone call from a nice woman named Vorano, who explained I had not filled out the form correctly. She walked me through the details. I took notes and she send me back the form with the areas I needed to complete highlighted in yellow. Like Dorothy, I did my best to follow the yellow brick road.

And I procrastinated something terrible. I needed to go through our files and doublecheck our donations through June 2009 and our expenses for the same time frame. It wasn’t a difficult task; however, I made it difficult by assuming I’d get it wrong again. My fear of failure had me paralyzed.

Then I got a registered letter from the Oregon DOJ. They were waiting for my form and there’d be an additional fee if I didn’t send it in pronto. Fear of fees pushed me right past fear of failure…where Isis Initiative, Inc. is concerned.

Today I spent the afternoon going through our files and completing the form. I photocopied it and slipped it in the pre-paid envelope. It mails out tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

